Derwent College JCRC results announced

Image credit: Ally Carmichael

Image credit: Ally Carmichael

Members of Derwent College met in D Bar last night to hear the much anticipated results of their 2010/2011 JCR Committee elections, in an evening led by reigning chair Holly Burton.

Ben Woolley and Greg Brocklehurst were elected into the hotly contested position of Vice Chair, while Stephanie Hill and Alex Miles were announced as Welfare Reps.

However many of the roles were uncontested and not all positions in the JCRC were filled, including positions such as environment rep. These positions will be contested later in the year at the Derwent by-elections.

The night was bought to a close with the much anticipated announcement of Derwent’s new Chair, Matt Jenkins, who beat his opponent Freddy Harris with 251 votes to 115.

Matt Jenkins commented: “I am delighted that I have won the election, especially as Freddy Harris was a very worthy opponent. I am now looking forward to leading Derwent JCRC into 2011 and forming a committee that represents every single student within Derwent.”

Matt Jenkins and the rest of the newly elected committee will take over their positions in the next few weeks.

Results are as follows:

Chair: Matt Jenkins
Vice Chair: Ben Woolley and Greg Brocklehurst
Treasurer: Amy Robertson
Secretary: Alison Wise and Alex Stewart
Welfare Reps: Stephanie Hill and Alex Miles
RAG Reps: Beth Finnie and Lucy Hoban
Visual Entertainment Reps: Krishna Yellappa and David Kirk
Sponsorship Reps: Milly Carlson and Harry Moss
International Reps: Federica Turner and Milana Knezevic
Ents Reps: Franchesca Knight, Conor Scanlan, Harry Pampiglione and Izzy Pratt
Edens Court Reps: Amy Ratcliffe and Kitty Tester
Bar Reps: Ellen Blake, Alex Szepietowski, Katherine Hannah, Ric Morris
Ordinary Members: Sakina Sheikh, Tommy Staite
Press and Publicity Reps: Oliver Brown and Daniel Corne
Campaigns officers: Zoe Lederman and Bradley Lineker
Merchandise Reps: Tim Parkin and Jamie Criswell
LGBT Reps: Baxter Willis
Sports Reps: Kat Redmond, Margaret Edwards, Joe Boughtflower, Oscar Wimshurst