Winners of teaching awards announced

The Department of Electronics won the departmental award for teaching

The winners of this year’s Excellence in Teaching and Supervision Awards have been announced.

Image: Excellence in Teaching and Supervision Awards

Image: Excellence in Teaching and Supervision Awards

The Award for Inspirational Lecturer went to Gavin Phillips from the Psychology Department, who was commended for “never fail[ing] to keep the entire department’s morale sky-high”.

The Departmental Award for Teaching went to the Department of Electronics, while the Departmental Award for Supervision went to the Department of Physics.

The three winners of the Taught Supervisor of the Year Award were Kate Rudd from the Department of Health Sciences, Dan Keith from the Department of Politics, and Duncan Petrie from the TFTV Department. They were described as “inspiring”, “exemplary” and “passionate” respectively.

George Offer, Academic Officer, told Nouse: “The sheer number of nominations this year shows just how much appreciation students have for staff throughout the University. The awards are just a small thank you for all those at York who make the University truly excellent!”

Full List of Winners

Inspirational Lecturer
Gavin Phillips (Psychology)

Postgraduate Who Teaches of the Year
Gabriela Leddy (History)

Promoting Employability
Robert Hollingworth (Music)

Research Supervisor of the Year
John Bowen (English and Related Literature)

Taught Supervisor of the Year
Kate Rudd (Health Sciences)
Dan Keith (Politics)
Duncan Petrie (TFTV)

Departmental Award: Supervision
The Department of Physics

Innovative Use of Technology
Gavin Kearney (TFTV)

Unsung Hero of Non-Academic Staff
Helen Chan (SPSW – Online Masters)

Outstanding feedback
Emma Kennedy (English and Related Literature)

Demonstrator of the Year
Sindhu Suravaram (Chemistry)

Teacher of the Year
Angelo O’Flaherty (Language & Linguistic Science)

Departmental Award: Teaching
The Department of Electronics

Leave a comment

Please note our disclaimer relating to comments submitted. Please do not post pretending to be another person. Nouse is not responsible for user-submitted content.