Winners of the Excellence in Teaching and Supervision Awards announced

In total, 525 nominations were submitted for the Awards, which celebrate excellence across the University

The winners of this year’s Excellence in Teaching and Supervision Awards, which are held in partnership with the University of York, have been announced.

Photo credit: YUSU

Photo credit: YUSU

The awards, which are supported by Teach First, are an annual student-led celebration of excellence from across the University. This year’s ceremony took place towards the end of last term in The Lounge.

Cathy Dantec, from the Department of Language and Linguistic Science, won Teacher of the Year, and was praised for her “consistently stimulating, interesting and impeccably planned” seminars and “positive attitude towards teaching”.

Other winners included Keith Allen, Áine Sheil, Jeremy Goldberg, Cath Jackson, Helen Tilbrook and Gerri Kaufman, who all claimed Supervisor of the Year awards.

In total, 525 nominations were submitted by 402 individual students for 285 unique nominees. The awards were judged by a panel drawn from the University, YUSU and current students.

Professor John Robinson, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, opened the event, which was hosted by Dan Whitmore, who was YUSU Academic Officer at the time, and presented by staff and students.

Professor Koen Lamberts, Vice-Chancellor, described the event as “one of the best I’ve been to since I started here”.

Full list of winners:

Academic Officer’s Award for Outstanding Commitment to Student Engagement – University Library

Demonstrator of the Year – Sindhu Krishna, Chemistry

Departmental Award: Supervision – Music Department

Departmental Award: Teaching – Language and Linguistic Science Department

Innovative Use of Technology – Sara Perry, Archaeology Department

Inspirational Lecturer – Norman Yeo, Language and Linguistic Science

Outstanding Feedback – Quentin Summerfield, Psychology

PGWT (Postgraduate Who Teaches) of the Year – Rebecca Lyons, English

Promoting Employability – Daniel Ungar, Biology

Supervisor of the Year – Keith Allen, Philosophy

Supervisor of the Year – Áine Sheil, Music

Supervisor of the Year – Jeremy Goldberg, History

Supervisor of the Year – Cath Jackson & Helen Tilbrook, Health Sciences

Supervisor of the Year – Gerri Kaufman, Health Sciences

Teacher of the Year – Cathy Dantec, Language and Linguistic Science

Unsung Hero of Non-Academic Staff – Heather Cork, Maths Department

Leave a comment

Please note our disclaimer relating to comments submitted. Please do not post pretending to be another person. Nouse is not responsible for user-submitted content.