York dominates at Guardian student media awards

In a hugely successful night for the University of York student media, former Nouse editor Heidi Blake has been named Guardian Student Journalist of the Year. Blake, who also won Best Features Writer and Best Diversity Writer, was given the award at last night’s Guardian Student Media Awards in London.

York dominated the awards ceremony with York Vision and Nouse winning seven awards between them. Campus tabloid York Vision won Best Student Newspaper, while the paper’s former editor Lucy Taylor won Best Reporter and writer Rick Webb won Best Critic. Former York Vision Editor Adam Thorn was also nominated for Best Reporter. Nouse writer Adam Sloan was nominated for Best Travel Writer while Jo Shelley was nominated for Best Features Writer. Nouse.co.uk came
runner-up for Best Website.

Guardian editor Alan Rusbridger was at the ceremony to offer personal congratulations.

The Winners:

Student reporter of the year: Lucy Taylor (University of York)
Runner-up: Andy Heath (Oxford University)

Student broadcaster of the year: Natalie Whelan (University of Leeds)
Runner-up: Sam Read (Reading University)

Student publication designer of the year: Varsity (Cambridge University)
Runner-up: Smiths (Goldsmiths, University of London)

Student sports writer of the year: Matthew Nixon (University of Manchester)
Runner-up: Ky Capel (University of Leeds)

Student travel writer of the year: Peter Dominiczak (Imperial College)
Runner-up: Michael Kielty (Cambridge University)

Student website of the year: Live (Imperial College)
Runner-up: Nouse (University of York)

Student newspaper of the year: York Vision (University of York)
Runner-up: Oxford Student (Oxford University)

Student magazine of the year: Nang (Tower Hamlets Summer University)
Runner-up: Impact (University of Nottingham)

Student feature writer of the year: Heidi Blake (University of York)
Runner-up: Ruth Lewy (Oxford University)

Student diversity writer of the year: Heidi Blake(University of York)

Runner-up: Helen Thompson (Cardiff University)

Student critic of the year: Richard Webb (University of York)

Runner-up: Ben Lafferty (Oxford University)

Student photographer of the year: Ahmet Unver (University of Brighton)
Runner-up: Annemieke Goldswain-Hein (University of Brighton)

Student columnist of the year: Jonathan Liew (University of Edinburgh)
Runner-up: Stephen Daisley (University of Glasgow)

Overall student journalist of the year: Heidi Blake (University of York)


  1. Live! with an exclamation mark please ;)

    Reply Report

  2. Well done everyone!!!!

    Reply Report

  3. Congratulations to all of York’s media societies!

    Keep up the good work!

    Councillor James Alexander, Labour Candidate for York Outer

    Reply Report

  4. 25 Nov ’07 at 6:47 pm

    Lauren Carter

    Thanks James! Don’t know how we’d have done it without you.

    Reply Report

  5. 26 Nov ’07 at 5:33 pm

    Dr Joanna Moody

    Many, many congratulations to you all. A great team effort supporting individual success. You can all celebrate.

    And best wishes for the future.

    Dr Joanna Moody

    Reply Report

Leave a comment

Please note our disclaimer relating to comments submitted. Please do not post pretending to be another person. Nouse is not responsible for user-submitted content.